Visa Information

Foreign nationals entering the Republic of Korea are generally required to have a valid passport and a Korean visa assigned by an overseas branch of Korean embassy or consular offices. However, many are now permitted visa-free for a limited period under certain conditions following the “Citizens of the Countries under the Visa Exemption Agreement” [See Table 1]. In order to check whether you’re allowed to enter Korea without visa issuance and for other requirements, please contact the Korean immigration offices or visit the following websites to confirm.

Example of Entry Visa to Korea

Countries under Visa Waiver Agreements (English)


Procedure for applying for Visa:

  1. Check here if your country whether it is under Visa Waiver Agreements.
  2. If you need to apply for Visa, please follow the procedure as follows:

[Table 1] Designated Countries & Regions Granted Visa-Free Entry to Korea

Allowed to stay in Republic of Korea for 30 days only (unless otherwise specified below) for the purposes of tourism and visitation only.

Region Countries
Asia Japan (90 Days), Hong Kong (90 Days), Macao (90 Days), Taiwan (90 Days), Kuwait(90 Days), Brunei, Qatar, Saudi Arabia, Oman, United Arab Emirates, Bahrain (90 Days)
North America United States (90 Days), Canada (6 Months)
South America Argentina, Honduras, Paraguay, Uruguay (90 Days), Ecuador, Guyana
Europe Andorra, Monaco, San Marino, Cyprus, Albania, Croatia, Slovenia (90 Days), Vatican, Bosnia-Herzegovina, Serbia, Montenegro
Oceania Australia (90 Days), Guam, Fiji, Nauru, Palau, Marshall Islands, Solomon Islands, Micronesia, New Caledonia, Samoa, Tuvalu, Tonga
Africa Republic of South Africa, Mauritius, Seychelles, Swaziland, Egypt

Visa-Free Entry to Jeju-do Island

  • Applicable countries
  • With the exception of the countries listed below that are not eligible for visa-free entry
  • Countries NOT eligible for visa-free entry to Jeju-do (11 countries)
  • Ghana, Nigeria, Libya, Macedonia, Sudan, Syria, Afghanistan, Iran, Iraq, Cuba, Palestine
  • Period: 30 Days
  • Allowed region and range of activity: Jeju-do
  • Conditions: Those eligible must take planes or ferries with direct routes to Jeju-do.

Customs Allowances

All visitors who enter the Republic of Korea must submit a written baggage declaration to a customs officer upon entry. If a passenger declares non-duty free articles voluntarily, the declared amount will be accepted and the clearance procedure will be expedited unless the declared price of articles is questionable. More information about customs allowances and currency regulation can be found at the website below.

  • Korea Customs Service: (Korean, English, Japanese, Chinese, Spanish)

Duty-Free Allowance

For items that are taxable, US $600 per capita from the total dutiable value shall be exempted from the imposition of duty tax. Additional duty-free exemptions are 1 bottle of liquor (less than 1 liter, not over US $400), 1 carton of cigarettes (200 cigarettes, 50 cigars or 250 grams of tobacco) and 2 ounces of perfume (about 60㎖). For amounts that exceed the duty exemption, duty on the amount over will be charged per capita. Also, the liquor and cigarette exemptions are only permitted for those over 19 years of age.

– 1330 Korea Travel Hotline: +82-2-1330 (Korean, English, Japanese, Chinese)

This information was last updated on 24th May 2016, and therefore information may differ from what is presented here. We advise you to check details from the official websites before visiting.

This information is also available together with other logistical information at the homepage section.